Skip to main content

  Article updated: September 13, 2021

Reconnect a social account

Hootsuite connects to your social accounts using tokens from each social network. When tokens expire, your social accounts need to be reconnected, or re-authenticated. To learn more, see Why social accounts disconnect.

When a social account is disconnected, scheduled posts will fail to publish, streams won’t load, and analytics data will not be collected for that account. To identify a disconnected account, see the section How to identify a disconnected account.

Before you begin

To reconnect a social account, make sure you have:

  • Credentials (email and password) for the social account.
    Facebook groups can only be reconnected with the credentials that were initially used to add the Facebook group to Hootsuite.
  • Facebook Admin permissions for the Page if reconnecting a Facebook Page.
    • If the Page is an asset in Facebook Business Manager, you need Admin access to the Page in the Business Manager account as well. See the Facebook help article Add People to Your Business Manager.
  • Message access turned ON for Instagram (if applicable for your organization). In your Instagram mobile app Settings, select Privacy, select Messages, and under Connected Tools, make sure Allow Access to Messages is toggled on.
  • Permissions in Hootsuite to reconnect the social account:
    • Team, Business, and Enterprise plan members in a Hootsuite organization must have super admin, admin, or advanced social network permissions to reconnect a social account.
  • Not exceeded the maximum number of accounts allowed for your plan type. Each plan type allows you to manage a certain number of social accounts - you must be under that maximum number to reconnect an account (see Overview of Hootsuite plans).

If you don’t have permissions to reconnect a social account, you will see the last user who connected the account when you select Reconnect social accounts.

Pages, profiles, and groups added to Hootsuite with the same social account credentials can be reconnected at the same time (instead of one by one). So if a user has Hootsuite permissions to reconnect at least one Page, group, or profile associated with the same social account credentials, they will all reconnect.

Reconnect a social account

Important: When you reconnect a social account, Hootsuite connects automatically to any social networks currently open in your browser. To ensure successful reconnection of the correct account, log out of your social network accounts before you attempt to reconnect.

  1. Go to My profile , and then select Reconnect social accounts to display your disconnected accounts.
    Reconnect social accounts highlighted in the My profile menu
  2. Select Reconnect to enter the social account credentials (username and password) and re-authorize the connection to Hootsuite.

How to identify a disconnected account

When a social account is disconnected, you or your team members are alerted in the following ways:

Reconnect banner- A reconnect banner appears in Hootsuite. If you close the banner but the connection is not resolved, it will reappear after 24 hours.
The reconnect banner at the top of a Hootsuite account

Account alert- A yellow alert icon appears on your profile picture.

Email notification- An email notification is sent to the last user who successfully connected or reconnected the social account to Hootsuite, or to an org admin. Follow the instructions in the email to see the affected accounts and take action.

Planner alert- Posts scheduled to publish to a disconnected social account display a warning. Until the social account is reconnected, these posts will fail to publish. Open the scheduled post, and then select Reconnect.
A scheduled post tile with a yellow warning

Composer alert - If you select a disconnected social account when creating or editing a post, you'll be prompted to reconnect it before scheduling or publishing. If you don't have permissions to reconnect that account, you can save your post as a draft.
An alert about a disconnected account with the option to Reconnect

Stream interruption- Streams powered by disconnected social accounts are flagged.
An alert in a stream about a disconnected account with the option to Reconnect

Social networks and teams alert- Select My profile, and then select Manage accounts and teams. Disconnected social accounts are indicated with a red exclamation mark.
An account name with a red exclamation mark

Proactively reconnect a social account

Reconnecting a social account proactively, before Hootsuite has triggered disconnection alerts, is a common troubleshooting step. Refreshing an account’s connection ensures that it’s up-to-date and has the newest permissions required to complete certain actions in Hootsuite.

Proactively reconnect a private account

  1. Go to My profile, and then select Manage accounts and teams.
  2. Under Private social accounts, select the disconnected account (or the account that has been problematic).
  3. Select the Profile Settings tab, and then select Connect with [social network].
    The profile settings tab of a sample social account, showing the option to Connect with Twitter
  4. Enter your social account credentials, and then sign in.
    The social network may display additional permission prompts. Approve the prompts to complete the reconnection.

Proactively reconnect an organization's account as a Team, Business, or Enterprise plan member

Team, Business, and Enterprise members of a Hootsuite organization can use the following steps to reconnect an organization's social account. Make sure you have all the permissions required to reconnect the account. See the section, Before you begin.

  1. Go to My profile, and then select Manage accounts and teams.
  2. Select Social Networks.
    the manage area for a sample organization with social networks highlighted
  3. Select the disconnected account, select the Profile Settings tab, and then select Connect with [social network].
  4. Enter your social account credentials, and sign in.
    The social network may request additional permission. Approve the requests to complete the reconnection.

Tip: Enterprise plan members - If the social account was using automated tag or assignment options, ensure that the automation is running correctly after reconnecting. See Automate assignments and tags.