Skip to main content

  Article updated: September 16, 2021

Transfer a social account

Hootsuite users who belong to an organization can connect social accounts to one of two places:

  • Private social accounts, which is for each Hootsuite account owner's private use; or
  • An organization, which enables collaboration and sharing of social accounts with team members.

You can transfer social accounts from Private social accounts into an organization, or vice versa. If you belong to multiple organizations, you can also transfer social accounts between organizations. Analytics are retained when a social account is transferred.

To see where your social accounts are connected, go to My profile, and then select Manage accounts and teams. Private social accounts are at the bottom. Select Social Networks under an organization’s name to view those accessible to team members.

Transfer a private social account to an organization

  1. Go to My profile, and then select Manage accounts and teams.
  2. Under Private social accounts, select Settings on a social account, and then select Transfer to/Share.
  3. Select the organization or team from the drop-down menu.
  4. Optional: Select the first box to create a new board in your account populated with streams for the social account.
  5. Optional: Select the second box to delete all scheduled posts for the social account. Leaving the box unchecked will conserve scheduled posts by default.

    Important: Deleted scheduled posts cannot be recovered! You can always review and delete them later. See Manage your scheduled posts.

  6. Select Transfer social account/Share.

Transfer a social account from an organization

  1. Go to My profile, and then select Manage accounts and teams.
  2. Select Social Networks under the organization name.
    the manage area for a sample organization with social networks highlighted
  3. Select the social account from the list on the left.
  4. Select the gear icon in the top right, and then select Transfer to.
    sample social account with settings selected and Transfer to option highlighted
  5. Select either Private social accounts or another organization name from the drop-down menu.
  6. Optional: Select the first box to create a new board in your account populated with streams for the social account.
  7. Optional: Select the second box to delete all scheduled posts for the social account. Leaving the box unchecked will conserve scheduled posts by default.

    Important: Deleted scheduled posts cannot be recovered! You can always review and delete them later. See Manage your scheduled posts.

  8. Select Transfer social account.