Skip to main content

  Article updated: May 09, 2022

Remove a member from a team or account

Keep access to your organization, teams, and social accounts up-to-date. Super admins and admins can remove members from their organizations. When you remove a member, they cannot collaborate with other organization members. They also lose access to organization-specific features.

A removed member's Hootsuite account only retains features specific to their plan type. For details and explanations of plan types, see Overview of Hootsuite plans.

If you need to remove an account owner, you must transfer ownership of the organization to someone else (see Transfer ownership of a Hootsuite account) before they can be removed. In this case, the new owner assumes paying member status and the previous owner frees up their team seat.

Remove a member from an organization

Remove a member from an organization and any teams they belong to in the organization.

  1. Select My profile, and then select Manage accounts and teams.
  2. Select Manage next to the organization.
  3. Select Settings next to the member, and then select Remove from organization.
    Sample organization showing the members in this organization area. Settings is selected showing option to Remove from organization.

If the member is not removed, ensure the member is not the account and organization owner. For more information on removing an organization owner, see Transfer ownership of a Hootsuite account.

Remove a member from a team

Remove a member from a team, but keep them in the organization.

  1. Select My profile, select Manage accounts and teams, and then select from the following options:
    • Enterprise and Business plan members - Select Teams in the organization.
    • Team plan members - Select Manage next to the team in the organization.
  2. Select the team from the list of teams.
  3. Select a member, and then select Remove.

Revoke a member's access to a social account

Revoking a member's access to a social account does not remove the member from a team or an organization.

  1. Select My profile, and then select Manage accounts and teams.
  2. To revoke access to a social account, do the following:
    • Enterprise and Business plan members - Select Social Networks, and then select the social network from the list.
    • Team plan members - Select the social network.
  3. Select the member, and then select Remove.
    Manage area for a team member with remove option highlighted.

 

Can't find what you're looking for? We're here to help