Skip to main content

  Article updated: May 12, 2022

Delete a contact in Hootdesk

Audience: Hootdesk admins

There are times when you’ll want to remove a contact from the system. In fact, if a contact requests it, you must. The European Union’s General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) governs how personal data must be collected, processed, and erased. It includes the "right to be forgotten," which means that organizations must erase personal data when someone requests it.

When you delete a contact, their conversation history, attachments, and contact attributes are permanently removed from Hootdesk. If the person communicates with you again, they’ll appear as a new contact.

  1. Go to Hootdesk , and in the agent workspace, use the Search conversations box to find the contact.
  2. Select the user, and then on the Contact tab, select Delete under the contact's name.
  3. When prompted, enter a Contact identity hint to help identify which contact was deleted.
  4. Select Delete contact.

When you delete a contact, a log of the event is created. To view all deleted contacts:

  • In Hootdesk , select Admin settings, expand Privacy and security, and then select Deleted contacts.
    Here you’ll find contact hint information, the deleted contact's platform, the deletion date, and the admin who deleted the contact.

 

Can't find what you're looking for? We're here to help