Skip to main content

  Article updated: April 29, 2022

About locked conversations in Hootdesk

Audience: Hootdesk agents

While you work on a conversation, a lock prevents any other agents from replying to it, ensuring that the contact has an uninterrupted support experience. Locking is automatic and temporary, and it is not the same as ownership.

Here’s how conversation locking works:

  • A conversation becomes locked when an agent selects it in the queue or has it auto-assigned to them.
  • Conversations are only locked in the New or Pending queues.
  • Only one conversation can be locked to an agent at a time.
  • When a conversation is locked to an agent, the Reply box and its buttons are disabled for other agents.
  • To perform any action on a locked conversation, another agent must “take” it.
  • If an agent takes a conversation, the conversation automatically becomes locked to the agent who took it and no longer locked to the previous agent.

    The option to take a conversation that another agent is replying to.

A conversation is unlocked when any of the following occurs:

  • An agent clicks away from a conversation to a different conversation.
  • Another agent takes the conversation.
  • The conversation changes state.

Learn more

 

Can't find what you're looking for? We're here to help