Article updated: September 13, 2021
Remove conversation ownership in Sparkcentral
Admins can enable a single option that removes the ownership from any owned conversations in the New queue when agents log out. This option ensures that ongoing conversations don’t get overlooked when an agent has to log out for any reason.
To enable or disable this setting, on the Settings tab, expand Routing & Automation, and then select Remove Ownership.
When the Enable Ownership removal option is selected, the following applies:
- Owned conversations in the New queue - Agents are automatically removed from all conversations in the New queue within in 2 minutes of logging out. Their conversations are then viewable by any agent filtering for unowned conversations.
- Owned conversations in the Pending queue - Ownership is maintained when agents log out. However, if an inbound message causes a conversation to move to the New queue while the owner is logged out, ownership is automatically removed, and the conversation is then viewable by any agent filtering for unowned conversations.
- Owned conversations with boomerangs - If a boomerang is set on a conversation to move it from the Pending queue to the New queue, and this boomerang is triggered while the agent is logged out, ownership is removed.
Ownership audit trails indicate ownership changes in conversation history.
About assigning conversations to agents who are logged out
Conversations can be assigned to agents who are not logged on. This might be necessary when a conversation needs to be handled by a specialist or agent with particular knowledge. In such cases, we recommend assigning the conversation to the offline agent, and then immediately moving the conversation to the Pending queue. An ownership notification alerts the agent to the new assignment when they log on.
However, if the customer replies to the conversation in the Pending queue while the assigned agent is still logged out, the conversation moves to the New queue and ownership is cleared.