Skip to main content

  Article updated: May 17, 2022

Set conversation ownership in Sparkcentral

Owning a conversation means it’s been assigned to you. Conversation ownership helps ensure that contacts have a consistent experience when they interact with your team. It also lets agents know which conversations are already being handled.

Ownership can be set manually, or an admin can enable auto-ownership, which assigns conversations to the first agent to respond to a contact. When a conversation is assigned, the owner’s name appears above the Reply box in conversation view.

In the New queue, ownership is indicated by “Waiting on Agent Name.” In the Pending queue, ownership is indicated by “Owned by Agent Name”. In the Resolved queue, all ownership is removed.

Assign an owner to a conversation

Select the message you want to assign, select the ownership list above the Reply box, and then search for or select a name.

Select Unowned to release ownership.

Filter the queue by ownership

You can filter the New and Pending queues by conversation ownership. This gives you visibility into other agents' assignments and helps ensure that conversations don't get overlooked. Select Filter at the top of the queue and point to Ownership to choose one of the following options:

  • Unowned - All unowned conversations
  • Owned by me - Conversations owned by you
  • Select all - All owned conversations
  • (Agent Name) - Conversations owned by one or more selected agents

Remove ownership when logging out

Admins can enable automatic removal of ownership at logout so that conversations owned by offline users are automatically removed within 2 minutes. To enable or disable ownership removal:

  1. Go to Admin settings, expand Routing and automation, and then select Remove ownership.
  2. Select or clear the check box, and then select Save.

Ownership is maintained for all conversations in the Pending queue. However, if a pending conversation is moved to the New queue while the owner is logged off, ownership is automatically removed and the conversation can be viewed by any agent who filters for unowned conversations.

 

Can't find what you're looking for? We're here to help