Switch from a paid plan type to a free plan

  

You can change your Hootsuite trial or paid plan to a free plan. Trials can be changed at any time. If you change a paid plan to a free plan, the plan will take effect at the end of the current billing period. Changing from a paid plan to a free plan means the loss of features not available to the plan type you are changing to. For more information on plan types, see Overview of Hootsuite plan types.

If your account is overdue or suspended, see Manage an overdue or suspended account.

Change to a free plan

  1. Sign in to Hootsuite.
  2. Go to My profile , and then select Manage my plan.
    (Legacy Pro plan members, go to My profile , select Account settings, preferences, and billing, and then select Modify or upgrade plan.)
    profile-account-settings.png
  3. Select Manage my Subscription, select Change my plan, and then select Downgrade in the Free section. Downgrades take effect at the end of the current paid period so you can continue to benefit from all the paid plan features until the period ends. Note, you also have the ability to do the following:
    • Start or stop automatically renewing your subscription - Your subscription is set to automatically renew unless you turn this feature off. If your subscription is not set to automatically renew and it expires, you will be directed to the billing page when you log in to Hootsuite. From here, you can re-enable your paid subscription and avoid losing any of your paid features (for example, additional social accounts or team members) or you can switch to a Free plan.
    • Delete your Hootsuite account - If you delete your account, you will lose access to Hootsuite (even if you are on a currently paid for plan). In addition, the email associated with that account will not be available for use with another Hootsuite account. Consider downgrading to a free plan to continue being able to access Hootsuite. If you have created an organization in your account, or you are a super admin, you must first delete the organization or change ownership of the organization before deleting your account.
    • billing-manage-subscription.png

Note: If you upgraded to Professional through the mobile app, you need to change your plan type and cancel your mobile subscription through the mobile app as well. For more information, see the following articles:

  Read more