Cancel or delete your Hootsuite account

  

We're sad you are looking to fly away! If you want to change your Hootsuite trial or paid plan to a Free plan, you can. You'll find instruction to change your plan or delete your account in this article.

If your account is overdue or suspended, you will not be able to cancel your subscription or delete your account until you update your payment information. For more information, see Manage an overdue or suspended account.

  Plans

Hootsuite Business and Enterprise customers - please contact your customer success manager to close your Hootsuite account.

Change or delete your Hootsuite account

Note that deleting an account takes effect immediately and accounts are not recoverable. Changing from a paid plan to a free plan means the loss of features not available to the plan type you are changing to, including additional social accounts, and their scheduled content. 

    1. Sign in to Hootsuite.
    2. Select My profile , and then select Account settings, preferences, and billing.
      Account settings, preferences, and billing selected in the My profile menu
    3. Select Modify or Upgrade Plan.
    4. Select one of the following options:
      • Change my plan - Upgrade or downgrade your plan.
      • Cancel my subscription - Cancel your paid subscription and switch to the Free plan.
      • Delete my account - Delete your Hootsuite account.
        Billing and cancellation options on the Billing Hisory page

 Note

If you upgraded to Professional through the mobile app, you need to change your plan and cancel your mobile subscription through the mobile app as well. For more information, see the following articles:

Delete your account as an organization super admin

If you have created an organization in your account, or you are a super admin, you must first delete the organization or change ownership of the organization before deleting your account.

  Important

Deleting an organization is permanent. When an organization is deleted, all of its content is also deleted. This includes teams, social accounts, scheduled messages, and vanity URLs. Organization members will also lose their collaboration access.

  1. Sign in to Hootsuite.
  2. Select My profile , and then select Social networks and accounts.
  3. Select Settings next to your organization, and then select Delete organization.
  4. Select My profile , and then select Account settings, preferences, and billing.
  5. Select Modify or Upgrade Plan.
  6. Select one of the following options:
    • Change my plan - Upgrade or downgrade your plan.
    • Cancel my subscription - Cancel your paid subscription and return to the Free plan.
    • Delete my account - Delete your Hootsuite account.
      Billing and cancelation options on the Billing Hisory page

  Read more

Was this article helpful?
325 out of 1249 found this helpful