Reconnect a social account

  

When a social account is disconnected, scheduled posts will fail to publish, streams won’t load, and analytics data will not be collected for the account. Learn how to identify a disconnection and who can reconnect a social account.

Hootsuite connects to your social accounts using tokens from each social network. When tokens expire, your social accounts need to be reconnected, or re-authenticated. To learn more, see Why social accounts disconnect from Hootsuite

Important: When you reconnect a social account, Hootsuite connects automatically to any social networks currently open in your browser. To ensure successful reconnection of the correct account, open another browser tab, go to the social network you're about to reconnect (such as Facebook.com), and make sure you are logged out.

Who can reconnect a social account?

Hootsuite organization super admins, admins, and those with advanced social network permissions can reconnect a social account. Credentials (email and password) to the native social account are required when reconnecting.

If you don’t have permissions to reconnect the social account, the pop-up displays the name of the last user who reconnected the account. 

Caveats:

  • Facebook groups can only be reconnected with the credentials that were initially used to add the group to Hootsuite.
  • Facebook Pages must be reconnected by a user with Facebook Administrator permissions to the Page.

Hootsuite uses cascading authentication, so that all Pages, profiles and groups originally connected with the same social account can be reconnected at the same time (avoiding the need for individual authentication).

So while a user may not have permissions in Hootsuite to reconnect every Page or profile, if they have permissions for one of them, the authentication will cascade and reconnect all the Pages and profiles associated with the same social account credentials.

Reconnect when you see a disconnection alert

When a social account is disconnected, you or your team members are alerted in the following ways:

Reconnect banner

A reconnect banner appears at the top of the dashboard on each login following a disconnection. If the banner is dismissed, it will reappear after 24 hours.

Select Reconnect your social networks on the banner to open a pop-up showing the social accounts that need reconnecting. Select Reconnect to enter the social account credentials (username and password) and re-authorize the connection to Hootsuite.

Account alert

If any social accounts are disconnected, you'll see a yellow alert icon on your profile picture in the bottom left of the dashboard. Select My profile , and then select Reconnect social accounts.

Email notification

An email notification is sent to the last user to successfully connect or reconnect the social account to the dashboard, or to an admin who owns the social account. Follow the instructions in the email to open the reconnect pop-up in your dashboard, see the affected accounts, and take action.

Planner alert

Posts scheduled to a disconnected social account are indicated with a yellow warning. Until the social account is reconnected, these posts will fail to publish. Select the scheduled post tile to open it, and then select Reconnect.
A scheduled post tile with a yellow warning

Composer alert

If a disconnected social account is selected in the Composer, you'll be prompted to reconnect it before scheduling or publishing your post. If you don't have the permissions to reconnect, you can save your post as a draft.
An alert about a disconnected account with the option to Reconnect

Stream interruption

Any streams powered by disconnected social accounts display a Reconnect button. Ensure you have the correct permissions to reconnect successfully.
An alert in a stream about a disconnected account with the option to Reconnect

Social networks and teams alert

In the management section of the dashboard, disconnected social accounts are indicated with a red exclamation mark.
An account name with a red exclamation mark

Tip: Open the reconnect pop-up at any time to check the status of your social accounts with this direct link: https://hootsuite.com/dashboard#/social-networks/reauth?

Reconnect with the Reconnect social accounts option

If you dismissed a disconnection notification or aren’t sure if you have a disconnected account, you can easily check for disconnections:

  1. Select My profile , and then select Reconnect social accounts.
  2. If any social accounts are disconnected, a pop-up displays the social accounts that need reconnecting. Select Reconnect to enter the social account credentials (username and password) and re-authorize the connection to Hootsuite.

Reconnect on the Social networks and teams page

To reconnect any personal account to the Hootsuite dashboard, follow these steps:

  1. Select My profile , and then select Social networks and teams.
    Social networks and teams option selected in the My profile menu
  2. Select the disconnected account (or the account that has been problematic).
  3. Under the Profile Settings tab, select Connect with (social network).
    The profile settings tab of a sample social account, showing the option to Connect with Twitter
  4. Enter your social account credentials, and then sign in.
    The social network may display additional permission prompts. Approve the prompts to complete the reconnection to the dashboard.
  5. Instagram: To ensure that full functionality remains enabled for your business profile, select Sign in to Facebook to authorize the associated Facebook Page. To learn more, see Add an Instagram Business profile.

Reconnect an organization's account on the Social networks and teams page

To reconnect an organization's social account, follow these steps:

  1. Select My profile , and then select Social networks and teams.
    Social networks and teams option selected in the My profile menu
  2. Select Social Networks below the organization name.
    The Manage section for a sample organization, with Social Networks button highlighted
  3. Select the disconnected account from the list on the left and then select the Profile Settings tab.
  4. Select Connect with (social network).
  5. Enter your social account credentials, and then sign in.
    The social network may display additional permission prompts. Approve the prompts to complete the reconnection to the dashboard.
  6. Instagram: To ensure that full functionality remains enabled for your business profile, select Sign in to Facebook to authorize the associated Facebook Page. To learn more, see Add an Instagram Business profile.

Tip: If the social account was involved in any automatic tag or assignment actions, double-check that the action is still running correctly after reconnecting.