Reconnect Social Networks

The connections between the Hootsuite dashboard and social networks can break and require reconnecting for different reasons, which can be as simple as software updates or password changes. LinkedIn accounts, for example, require reconnecting every 60 days as a security measure.

If messages fail to post, streams don’t display content or data doesn’t populate in an analytics report, it usually means reconnecting is necessary.

When a social network needs reconnecting, a pop-up message will appear in your dashboard notifying you of the account(s) that is disconnected, and, if you are not authorized to reconnect the account, the name of the last user to reconnect it (where available). That user will also receive an email containing a link to sign in to Hootsuite to easily reconnect the account.

The affected social network may also display a red alert symbol in the User Profile section of the dashboard.

important_icon_37x44.png Notes:

  • Only Google+ page owners or managers can reconnect Google+ pages to Hootsuite.
  • Only those with Facebook Administrator permissions can reconnect Facebook Groups to Hootsuite.

 Personal social networks

When a social network needs reconnecting, a pop-up message will appear in your dashboard and affected streams prompting you to reconnect the profile. Social networks can also be reconnected at any time from the User Profile section of your dashboard.

important_icon_37x44.png WordPress.com accounts can only be reconnected from the User Profile section of the dashboard.

To reconnect a social network

  1. Click Reconnect beside the profile name in the pop-up message.
  2. Enter your social network credentials and authorize the account.

To reconnect a social network from your user profile

  1. Select your profile image from the top of the launch menu.
  2. Double-click the disconnected profile (or the profile that has been problematic).
  3. Click Connect with (social network).
  4. Enter your social network credentials, and complete any additional prompts to authorize the reconnection.

 Organization Social Networks

When a social network requires reconnecting, a pop-up message will appear in your dashboard and affected streams prompting you to reconnect the profile. If you have the permissions to reconnect the profile yourself, you can do so easily from the pop-up. Otherwise, the pop-up will show the last person to connect the profile, who will also receive an email notification.

important_icon_37x44.png WordPress.com accounts can only be reconnected from the User Profile section of the dashboard.

To reconnect a social network

  1. Click Reconnect beside the profile name in the pop-up message.
  2. Enter your social network credentials and authorize the account.

To reconnect an organization's social network from your user profile

  1. Select your profile image from the top of the launch menu.
  2. Click View Social Networks under the organization name.
  3. Select the disconnected profile from the list on the left and then click the Profile Settings tab.
  4. Click Connect with (social network).
  5. Enter your social network credentials, and complete any additional prompts to authorize the reconnection.
Was this article helpful?
39 out of 72 found this helpful