Transfer or Reclaim Social Networks

Hootsuite offers the flexibility to move social networks from My Social Networks into an organization’s social networks and back again.

 Transfer Personal Social Networks to Organizations

A personal social network can be transferred to an organization, which transfers control of and access to the social network to the organization’s admins.

To transfer a personal social network to an organization

  1. Select your profile image from the top of the launch menu.
  2. Under My Social Networks, hover your mouse over the social network, click the gear icon org_gear_icon_29x28.png, and then select Transfer to.
  3. Select the organization from the drop-down menu, and then click Transfer Social Network.

 Transfer Social Networks between Organizations

Organizations can transfer social networks to other organizations. 

To transfer a social network to a different organization

  1. Select your profile image from the top of the launch menu.
  2. Click View Social Networks under the organization name.
  3. Select the social network from the list on the left.
  4. Click the gear icon org_gear_icon_29x28.png in the top-right corner of the dashboard, and then select Transfer to.
  5. Select the organization that will receive the social network from the drop-down menu, and then click Transfer Social Network.  

 Transfer Organization Social Networks to Personal Social Networks

Transferring a social network from your organization to your personal account may be required if you no longer want the social network to be managed by your organization or a team.

To transfer a social network from your organization to your personal account

  1. Select your profile image from the top of the launch menu.
  2. Click View Social Networks under the organization name.
  3. Select the social network from the list on the left.
  4. Click the gear icon org_gear_icon_29x28.png in the top-right corner of the dashboard, and then select Transfer to.
  5. Select My Social Networks from the drop-down menu, and then click Transfer Social Network

 Reclaim Ownership of Social Networks

Reclaiming ownership of your social network may be required if your social network has been transferred to a team or a different Hootsuite account.

important_icon_37x44.png If you do not have the permission level to reclaim your account, the team admin can increase your permission level, or remove the social network from the team for you.

To reclaim ownership of your social network

  1. Select your profile image from the top of the launch menu.
  2. Under My Social Networks, click Add a Social Network.
  3. Select the social network from the list, and then click Connect.
  4. Enter your username and password, and then click Authorize app.
  5. Click Yes.
Was this article helpful?
24 out of 26 found this helpful