Skip to main content

  Article updated: January 11, 2022

Remove a member from a team or account

Super admins and admins can remove members from their organizations. When you remove a member, they cannot collaborate with other organization members. They also lose access to organization-specific features. For information on Hootsuite organizations, see Overview of teams and organizations.

A removed member's Hootsuite account only retains features specific to their plan type. For details and explanations of plan types, see Overview of Hootsuite plans.

You cannot remove the account owner who created the organization. If you need to remove an account owner, you must transfer ownership of the organization to someone else (see Transfer ownership of a Hootsuite account). In this case, the new owner assumes paying member status and the previous owner frees up their team seat.

Remove a member from an organization

  1. Select My profile, and then select Manage accounts and teams.
  2. Select Manage next to the organization.
  3. Select Settings next to the member, and then select Remove from organization.
    members in this organization area with settings selected showing options

If the member is not removed, ensure the member is not the account and organization owner. For more information, see Transfer ownership of a Hootsuite account.

Remove a member from a team

Removing a member from a team does not remove them from the organization.

  1. Select My profile, select Manage accounts and teams, and then select from the following options:
    • Enterprise and Business plan members - Select Teams in the organization.
    • Team plan members - Select Manage next to the team in the organization.
  2. Select the team from the list of teams, select Settings next to the member, and then select Remove from team.
    team member settings options

Revoke a member's access to a social account

Revoking a member's access to a social account does not remove the member from a team or an organization.

  1. Select My profile, and then select Manage accounts and teams.
  2. To revoke access to a social account, do the following:
    • Enterprise and Business plan members - Select Social Networks, and then select the social network from the list.
    • Team plan members - Select the social network.
  3. Select the member, and then select Remove.
    manage area for a team member with remove option highlighted