Transfer a social account

  

Hootsuite users who belong to an organization can connect social accounts to one of two places:

  • To Private Social Networks, which is for each Hootsuite account owner's private use; or
  • To an organization, which enables collaboration and sharing of social accounts with team members.

You can transfer social accounts from Private Social Networks into an organization, or vice versa. If you belong to multiple organizations, you can also transfer social accounts between organizations.

Go to My profile , and then select Social networks and teams to see where your social accounts are connected. Private Social Networks are at the bottom. Select Social Networks under an organization’s name to view those accessible to team members.

Transfer a private social account to an organization

  1. Go to My profile , and then select Social networks and teams.
    Social networks and teams option selected in the My profile menu
  2. Under Private Social Networks, select the gear icon  on a social account, and then select Transfer to/Share.
  3. Select the organization or team from the drop-down menu.
  4. Optional: Select the first box to create a new tab in your dashboard populated with streams for the social account.
  5. Optional: Select the second box to delete all scheduled messages for the social account. Leaving the box unchecked will conserve scheduled messages by default.

    Important: Deleted scheduled messages cannot be recovered! You can always review and delete them later. See View and manage scheduled content using Planner

  6. Select Transfer Social Network/Share.

Transfer a social account from an organization

  1. Go to My profile , and then select Social networks and teams.
    Social networks and teams option selected in the My profile menu
  2. Select Social Networks under the organization name.
    Social Networks selected under a sample organization name
  3. Select the social account from the list on the left.
  4. Select the gear icon  in the top right, and then select Transfer to.
    Transfer to selected after selecting the gear icon on a sample social account in an org
  5. Select either Private Social Networks or another organization name from the drop-down menu.
  6. Optional: Select the first box to create a new tab in your dashboard populated with streams for the social account.
  7. Optional: Select the second box to delete all scheduled messages for the social account. Leaving the box unchecked will conserve scheduled messages by default.

    Important: Deleted scheduled messages cannot be recovered! You can always review and delete them later. See View and manage scheduled content using Planner. 

  8. Select Transfer Social Network.
In this article
Was this article helpful?
7 out of 17 found this helpful